Hating Yourself

There was definitely a time where I truly hated something about myself, and it’s something that had always been my insecurity, which has also been something that always brought me down, every time I thought of it.

In my past, I was always told about how I should and should be and would I should and shouldn’t do, and there’s a point where, you have this great responsibility you have suddenly created which can only go so far, in terms of managing everything. Sometimes, the breaking point.IMAG0398

I’ve decided to blog about this mainly because, we all have these little things that we are unsure or sensitive about ourselves, and everybody has them. But it’s not brought up a lot so I am going to share some of my experiences with you.

In school, I always wore this light blue jumper, which I loved with all my heart because it was from a friend who had gone away, but people took it very differently.

They thought it looked cheap and tacky, just because it wasn’t over £70 and because it wasn’t the latest thing everybody was talking about. (Don’t get me wrong, though, there’s nothing wrong with clothing in fashion that’s nice and expensive.)

Usually in school, I wore the same thing pretty regularly just because it was easier, and I could just throw something on in less than 5 minutes.

However, there were quite a few judgemental people who did judge me for this, and they would think I was poor, and cheap. (Luckily, they never said anything really rude to my face).

But these things did question myself, and make me rethink things about my every day life. It made me rethink the things that made me, well, ME.

IMAG0331.jpg

The point of this blog, is to let you know that every imperfection you have is something that makes up you and every little thing is important. Don’t let opinion’s drag you down. They are things of other people’s views, and just because they see you in a different way, doesn’t mean you have to think of yourself in the same way as them.

Please let me know if you like these types of blogs (everyday, life issues, e.t.c) in the comments, or just what you thought – I read all of them and it really means so much to me.

I will see you all in my next post!

Tess xxx

P.S I did a very similar post called Being Yourself & Being Different on my blog , if you have not checked it out yet, which focuses on bullying and the more serious matters.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hating Yourself

  1. byIndiaBlue says:

    “Don’t let opinion’s drag you down. They are things of other people’s views, and just because they see you in a different way, doesn’t mean you have to think of yourself in the same way as them.” Well said my friend. I know it’s easier said than done sometimes Tess, but be yourself. People will come and go, a few will remain and they will love you for your individuality and your Blue sweater, if it’s a favourite and sentimental I hope you have it still. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen Thorburn says:

    Young people are under so much pressure to conform and are so concerned with being ‘normal’ (whatever that is). Life is far more interesting if you’re an individual and, in adulthood, people will respect you for it. Life is too short to hate yourself or to waste time worrying about what other people think. I enjoyed your post Tess!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

